Prevention Up Front Alliance

At the heart of any peaceful country is a vibrant civil society empowered to engage decision-makers, influence policy and effect change.

The Prevention Up Front Alliance strengthens the capacity of civil society organisations to advocate for conflict prevention. We do this around the world by supporting our member organisations in their advocacy for locally-grounded and inclusive approaches. This is an alliance between the Global Partnership for the Prevention of Armed Conflict and the World Federalist Movement-Institute for Global Policy, in partnership with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of The Netherlands.

In 2015, the Netherlands' Ministry of Foreign Affairs entered into strategic partnerships with 25 alliances as part of its new "Dialogue and Dissent" program for the period 2016-2020. 

This Alliance brings together GPPAC's network and the two networks coordinated by WFM-IGP: the Coalition of the International Criminal Court (CICC) and the International Coalition for the Responsibility to Protect (ICRtoP).

Prevention Up Front has 3 main programmatic focuses:

1. Strengthening Conflict Prevention Mechanisms and Infrastructures: Ensuring that established norms and policy frameworks based on the principles of Human Security (HS) are successfully implemented within conflict prevention practices and advocacy through capacity building activities and training.

2. Reducing Impunity: Strengthening the international peace and justice system to prevent the recurrence of violence and end impunity for crimes occurring in conflict and post-conflict situations.

3. Increasing Access, Political Space and Opportunities for Civil Society to Engage: Securing access for Civil Society Organizations to operate, advocate and lobby in high level political arenas, whether among national governments or negotiations at the UN. Combating the "shrinking space" that civil society is currently facing globally, protecting localized voices from increased intimidation and pressure.

Priority regions for the Alliance will include Eastern Africa/ Great Lakes Region; Western Africa; Middle East and Northern Africa; Europe; Southeast Asia as well as institutional headquarters in New York, Geneva, The Hague, and Addis Ababa.